Two Titles for BOP at North Island Junior Age Groups

The North Island Junior Age Group Championships was the first major event for juniors since lockdown attracted 170 kids from around NZ.  30 BOP kids made the journey to Hamilton to compete in their various age groups.  Four players managed to make their way to their respective finals, with two BOP champions being crowned.

The Bay was represented in both the Under 11 finals.  Brooke Valois was pipped in her match, but Edgecumbe's Zezima Waitai continued on from last years national title in the same age group to claim his first North Island crown.  

Tauranga's Joe Smythe was dominant in the Boys Under 17 division, not dropping a set as he cruised through the draw.  Katikati's Glenn Templeton was unable to repeat his performance at the National Champs last year as Auckland's Elijah Thomas took revenge from his loss in the final last year.  Glenn & Joe were recently selected to represent NZ at the World Junior Champs, but that event was subsequently cancelled due to COVID-19

The rest of the Bay contingent all had solid performances, and coach District Coach Robbie Wyatt was pleased with the results "It was great to see the numbers from the Bay attending the event and performing so well.  We have developed a strong squad system in the Bay, and the kids success reinforces our enthusiasm to continue to deliver a solid junior structure".


Boys Under 19Glenn Templeton (Katikati)Runner-Up
Boys Under 19Kobe Fleming (Devoy)6th
Boys Under 19Benjamin Adams (Devoy)7th/8th
Boys Under 19Liam Merson (Mount)17th
Girls Under 19Jaime Mitchinson (Devoy)10th
Girls Under 19Virginija Werder (Devoy)13th
Boys Under 17Joe Smythe (Devoy)CHAMPION
Boys Under 17Luke Steyn (Taupo)4th
Boys Under 17Robert Ward (Te Puke)11th/12th
Boys Under 17Matthew Ward (Te Puke)13th/16th
Boys Under 17Brennan Jolly (Geyser City)21st/24th
Boys Under 17Jack Oliver (Mount)21st/24th
Boys Under 17Hayden Collier (Te Puke)27th/28th
Boys Under 17Lennox Watene (Tokoroa)29th/32nd
Boys Under 17Josh Lawson (Katikati)29th/32nd
Girls Under 17Katie Templeton (Katikati)3rd
Boys Under 15Jonty Collier (Te Puke)11th/12th
Boys Under 15Boyd Williams (Geyser City)11th/12th
Boys Under 15Kyle Steyn (Taupo)13th/16th
Boys Under 15Finnley Oliver (Mount)17th
Girls Under 15Ella Hill (Devoy)4th
Girls Under 15Emma Merson (Mount)6th
Girls Under 15Libby Price (Mount)17th
Girls Under 15Brooke Hughes (Devoy)25th/26th
Girls Under 13Erin Wyllie (Devoy)5th
Girls Under 13Maiya Hotham (Putaruru)6th
Girls Under 13Kendall Young (Katikati)4th (Division 1)
Boys Under 11Zezima Waitai (Edgecumbe)CHAMPION
Girls Under 11Brooke Valois (Devoy)Runner-up


This product has been added to your cart